Source GLP-1
Independent information, supported by affiliate links. If you use a paid link we may earn a commission. Nothing here is medical advice.
Research

Generic Semaglutide in Canada, India, Brazil and China: 2026 Status

Updated October 20268 min readSources cited inline

As of October 2026, generic semaglutide is on the market in Canada (since May 2026), India (since March 2026) and Brazil (first approvals May through August 2026). China's patent expired in March 2026, but Novo Nordisk says regulatory data protection blocks copies there until April 2027, and no domestic approval had been confirmed. For US patients, none of these generics is FDA approved, and the FDA says importing a drug that is approved abroad but unapproved here is illegal in most circumstances.

Key takeaways

  • Canada: Health Canada's database lists Dr. Reddy's generic semaglutide as marketed from May 6, 2026 and Apotex's from May 14, 2026; nine more generic submissions were under review as of August 31, 2026.
  • India: Sun Pharma launched two semaglutide brands on March 21, 2026, after patent expiry, at about ₹750 to ₹2,000 per week depending on product and dose.
  • Brazil: the patent expired March 20, 2026. Anvisa registered EMS's Ozivy in May, five more pens in July, and the first two products formally classed as generics in August.
  • China: the patent expired in March 2026, but Novo says Ozempic's regulatory data protection runs to April 2027, and at least one domestic applicant's review was suspended.
  • US: these products are unapproved here. Ordering them from abroad is generally illegal, and FDA has warned about counterfeit Ozempic.

The four markets at a glance

CountryWhen protection endedFirst generics (verified)Price information
CanadaData protection ended January 2026 (patent had lapsed earlier)Dr. Reddy's (marketed May 6, 2026); Apotex (marketed May 14, 2026)Public plans: 50% of brand price with two generics, 35% with three or more (injectables)
IndiaPatent expiry, March 20, 2026Sun Pharma Noveltreat and Sematrinity (launched March 21, 2026), plus other brandsSun: about ₹750–₹2,000 per week
BrazilPatent expiry, March 20, 2026EMS Ozivy (May 2026); five pens registered July 29; first generics August 17 and 24Not reported in sources we reviewed
ChinaPatent expired March 2026; Novo cites data protection to April 2027None confirmedNot reported

Sources: Health Canada Drug Product Database, pCPA tiered pricing framework, Sun Pharma, Agência Brasil, Bloomberg via Swissinfo, Business Today. Details and more sources below.

Canada: the first major market with generic semaglutide

Canada was early for an unusual reason. Novo Nordisk's core Canadian patent on semaglutide lapsed after maintenance fees went unpaid in 2019 (Novo has said the lapse was intentional), which left only data exclusivity, and that expired on January 4, 2026, according to an analysis by the Canadian IP firm Brunet & Co. (Mondaq).

What Health Canada's database shows

Health Canada's Drug Product Database (DPD) showed the following as of October 2026:

The first two are equivalents of Ozempic, the diabetes product. Sevmia is different: Apotex called it the first Health Canada-approved generic equivalent of Wegovy, labeled for chronic weight management in adults with a BMI of 30 or higher (or 27 or higher with a weight-related condition) and for cutting heart attack risk in people with established cardiovascular disease (Apotex, June 30, 2026). Apotex did not disclose a price or launch date.

More are coming. Health Canada's list of generic submissions under review, current to August 31, 2026, shows nine pending semaglutide filings from Sandoz (two), Taro, Teva, AA Pharma, Zydus, Apotex, Angita and Vimy (Health Canada). Novo Nordisk Canada also has two additional semaglutide brand names in the DPD, Plosbrio and Poviztra.

How Canadian generic prices are set

Public drug plans in Canada use the pan-Canadian Pharmaceutical Alliance's tiered pricing framework. With two generic makers, the generic price is 50% of the brand reference price. With three or more, it falls to 35% for injectables (25% for oral solids) (pCPA). That framework governs what public plans pay. Cash prices at a pharmacy counter can differ, and the manufacturers' releases cited here did not publish them.

Looking for lower-cost options in the US?

Compare what FDA-approved GLP-1 treatment costs from US providers.

Paid links. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we write. See all options. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved.

India: dozens of brands after March 2026

Sun Pharma's sequence shows how India's market opened. The Drug Controller General of India approved Sun's semaglutide for type 2 diabetes in December 2025 and for chronic weight management in January 2026, the latter after an Indian Phase III trial. Sun said it would launch "after the expiry of semaglutide patent in India" (Sun Pharma, January 2026).

On March 21, 2026, Sun launched two brands (Sun Pharma, March 2026):

Sun was not alone. Indian trade press reported same-week launches from Zydus (Semaglyn, Mashema and Alterme), Dr. Reddy's (Obeda) and Natco (Medical Dialogues). Business Today, writing on the March 20, 2026 patent expiry date, reported that more than 50 brands from over 40 manufacturers were expected during 2026 (Business Today). Sun's details above come from its own releases; for other brands, check the manufacturer's announcement.

Brazil: a court fight, then a regulatory queue

Novo Nordisk asked Brazilian courts to extend its semaglutide patent to make up for slow patent-office processing. The courts refused, relying on the Supreme Federal Court's ruling in ADI 5.529 that patent terms can't be extended for administrative delays, and the patent expired on March 20, 2026 (Agência Brasil).

Anvisa, Brazil's regulator, treated the first applications cautiously. It noted that synthetic semaglutide copies of a product originally made biologically raise questions about immune reactions, including antibodies that "can make any semaglutide ineffective" (same source). The approvals then came in stages:

  1. May 2026: EMS received Brazil's first registration for synthetic semaglutide, a product called Ozivy (Agência Brasil).
  2. July 29, 2026: Anvisa registered five more pens for type 2 diabetes, compared against Ozempic: Owozy, Seemasun (Sun), Zempneo (Brainfarma), Semavy (Cosmed) and Orsema (Ranbaxy) (Agência Brasil). Sun said its product would be marketed with Hypera Pharma and put Brazil's injectable semaglutide market at about $413 million (Sun Pharma).
  3. August 17, 2026: the first product formally classed as a generic (EMS's generic version of Ozivy), plus a "similar" product, Semaclique, from EMS-linked Germed.
  4. August 24, 2026: a second generic, from Germed (Agência Brasil).

Brazil requires a prescription in two copies for these products, with the pharmacy keeping one. The Agência Brasil reports cited here did not give retail prices.

China: patent expiry on paper, launches unconfirmed

Reuters reported that semaglutide's patent in China was set to expire in 2026, that CSPC and Hangzhou Jiuyuan were among domestic developers, and that Macquarie expected generic launches in 2027 or as early as 2026 (Reuters via Zawya). The patent did expire in March 2026, but Novo told Bloomberg in May 2026 that Ozempic is entitled to regulatory data protection in China until April 2027 under the China–Switzerland Free Trade Agreement, and Jiuyuan, the first Chinese applicant, said its review had been suspended because of data protection provisions (Bloomberg via Swissinfo). No domestic semaglutide approval or launch in China had been confirmed by an NMPA or company announcement as of October 2026. Our China GLP-1 article covers the homegrown drugs that are approved there.

Why US patients can't legally import these generics

This is the question behind most searches on this topic, so here is the plain answer. These generics are approved in their home countries, not by the FDA. The FDA's personal importation page says:

If a drug is approved for use in another country but is an unapproved new drug in the U.S. it is illegal to import.

The FDA does describe limited enforcement discretion. Its criteria include that the product is for a serious condition "for which effective treatment may not be available domestically," that there is "no known commercialization or promotion of the product to persons residing in the U.S.," and that the quantity is generally no more than a three-month supply. Semaglutide is sold in the US, and websites advertising foreign generics to Americans are, by definition, promoting to US residents, so most mail-order scenarios fall outside those criteria.

There is also a safety problem. The FDA says it is aware of counterfeit Ozempic in the US and has warned that GLP-1 products sold online may contain the wrong ingredients or doses (FDA). A site claiming to ship "Canadian generic Ozempic" cannot be verified as selling the Health Canada-approved product.

Before ordering from abroad: Talk to your prescriber about FDA-approved options, insurance coverage and manufacturer programs first. If you travel or live part-time abroad, ask a pharmacist in that country and your US prescriber how to handle a prescription legally and safely.

What this means for the US

Generics abroad show what semaglutide can cost once competition arrives, but US timing depends on US patents and FDA approval of generic applications, which we cover in our patent cliff article. Until then, US patients' realistic choices are brand-name products, insurance coverage and cash-price programs.

Compare US prices today

See what providers currently charge for FDA-approved GLP-1 treatment.

Paid links. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we write. See all options. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved.

Frequently asked questions

Is generic semaglutide available in Canada?

Yes. Health Canada's Drug Product Database lists Dr. Reddy's generic semaglutide as marketed from May 6, 2026 and Apotex's from May 14, 2026. Apotex's Sevmia, a Wegovy equivalent for weight management, was approved in June 2026.

How much does generic semaglutide cost in India?

Sun Pharma, which launched on March 21, 2026, reported weekly costs of about ₹900 to ₹2,000 for its weight-management brand Noveltreat and about ₹750 to ₹1,300 for its diabetes brand Sematrinity, depending on dose.

When did the semaglutide patent expire in Brazil?

March 20, 2026, after Brazilian courts refused Novo Nordisk's request for an extension. Anvisa registered the first synthetic semaglutide in May 2026 and the first products formally classed as generics in August 2026.

Can I legally import generic semaglutide from Canada or India into the US?

In most cases, no. The FDA says a drug approved in another country but unapproved in the US is illegal to import, and these generics are not FDA approved. FDA has also warned about counterfeit Ozempic and unsafe online GLP-1 products.

Is generic semaglutide available in China?

Not as of October 2026. China's semaglutide patent expired in March 2026, but Novo Nordisk says Ozempic has regulatory data protection there until April 2027, and no domestic approval or launch had been confirmed.

Sources

  1. Mondaq (Brunet & Co.): The semaglutide saga continues, generic entry in Canada (November 2025)
  2. Health Canada DPD: Dr. Reddy's Semaglutide Injection, status
  3. Health Canada DPD: Apo-Semaglutide Injection, status
  4. Health Canada DPD: Sevmia, status
  5. Health Canada DPD: Aspen-Semaglutide, status
  6. Health Canada DPD: Plosbrio product record
  7. Health Canada DPD: Poviztra product record
  8. Apotex: First Health Canada approval for SEVMIA (June 30, 2026)
  9. Health Canada: Generic submissions under review
  10. pan-Canadian Pharmaceutical Alliance: Tiered pricing framework
  11. Sun Pharma: DCGI approval for generic semaglutide (January 23, 2026)
  12. Sun Pharma: Launch of Noveltreat and Sematrinity in India (March 21, 2026)
  13. Medical Dialogues: Indian pharma firms launch generic semaglutide (March 23, 2026)
  14. Business Today: India's weight loss drug moment (March 20, 2026)
  15. Sun Pharma: Anvisa approval for semaglutide in Brazil (July 29, 2026)
  16. Agência Brasil: Patente da semaglutida cai nesta sexta-feira (March 20, 2026)
  17. Agência Brasil: Anvisa registra 5 novas canetas de semaglutida (July 29, 2026)
  18. Agência Brasil: Anvisa aprova novas canetas, incluindo a 1ª genérica (August 17, 2026)
  19. Agência Brasil: Anvisa aprova segundo genérico (August 25, 2026)
  20. Reuters via Zawya: Innovent's weight-loss drug highlights China challenge for Novo, Lilly
  21. Bloomberg via Swissinfo: Novo sees generic Ozempic delayed in China until next year (May 6, 2026)
  22. FDA: Personal importation
  23. FDA: Concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss

Medical disclaimer: This article is general information, not medical advice, and does not replace a licensed clinician who knows your history. Approvals, labels, coverage and prices change; check the linked sources and talk with your prescriber or pharmacist before making decisions about any medication.